Skip directly to searchSkip directly to the site navigationSkip directly to the page's main content

Dona Ana County Health Highlights Report Introduction

map of New Mexico showing county highlighted County Administrative Offices:
845 North Motel Blvd.
Las Cruces, NM 88007-0000
Phone: (575) 647-7201 - Fax: (575) 647-7304

Communities: Anthony, Chaparral, Doņa Ana, Hatch, Las Cruces, Mesilla, Mesquite, Radium Springs, Rincon, Salem, Santa Teresa, Sunland Park, University Park, Vado, White Sands
Select a different county:

Quick Facts

Dona Ana
New Mexico
County Seat Las Cruces
Population (July 1, 2015) 216,577 2,099,856
% New Mexico Population 10.31% 100%
Land Area (Square miles) 3807.5 121,298
Persons per Sq. Mile (2015) 56.9 17.3
Resident Live Births (2015) 2,892 25,730
Deaths of NM Residents (2015) 1,509 17,687
Households (2011-2015) 83,586 909,565
You can find more Dona Ana County Quick Facts on the US Census Bureau website.


View Larger Map

Leading Causes of Death

graph with 10 leading causes of death in New Mexico, county and state age-adjusted rates
Age-adjusted to the U.S. 2000 population.
Source: New Mexico Death Certificate Database, Office of Vital
Records and Health Statistics, New Mexico Department of Health.
Retrieved from New Mexico Department of Health, NM-IBIS website,, on 2/16/2017.

This report is possible because of the work of all the NMDOH Data Stewards who maintain our health datasets, the NMDOH Indicator Report Authors and Editors who create and maintain the NM-IBIS indicator reports on which this report is based, and the people of New Mexico who support their efforts.
The information provided above is from the New Mexico Department of Health's NM-IBIS web site ( The information published on this website may be reproduced without permission. Please use the following citation: "Retrieved Sat, 29 January 2022 from New Mexico Department of Health, Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health Web site:".

Content updated: Fri, 21 Jun 2019 11:52:53 MDT